Black Holes? By: Katie W.

While I was searching for an article, this one thing about black holes caught my eye. Scary!

On Wednesday, March 11th, there were two REALLY BIG black holes spotted in a faraway galaxy, in space, orbiting each other. These black holes are orbiting about 5 Billion light years away from Earth. One light year is equal to about 6 Trillion miles so, these black holes are extremley faraway from us. Just think about it… 5 Billion times 6 Trillion is a huge number. Scientists think that each galaxy has their own black hole, like the Milky Way has a black hole that is three times the mass of the sun. When two galaxies collide, both of the black holes gravitate towards one and other so then they orbit and there is one big galaxy with two black holes. When they orbit, it takes one hundred years. It’s crazy!

Questions:

1. What do you think about black holes and why?

2. Do you think that a black hole could form near the Earth and why?

Link:

http://www.reuters.com/article/scienceNews

~ by Student Entry on March 17, 2009.

10 Responses to “”

  1. That is really cool! I did not know it takes one hundred years to orbit. I did not know they think that the Milky Way has a black hole that is three times the mass of the sun.

  2. Katie, this article was WONDERFUL! You put so much description on it and you had really cool pictures which made it even better. For question number 1, I think that black holes are quite scary to me because they seem very dangerous but at the same time extremly awesome. The reason I say that they are dangerous is that since they are sometimes are scary because they’re black and nobody is really sure what is in depper inside of it. I also say that they are awesome because if you look at them they are really different compared to other things that we know more information about. Keep up the great writing Katie!

  3. This is a really cool article. Blackholes are kind of scary but I am glad that many are far away from us. If a black hole formed by Earth I would obviously be scared. Knowing about these dangerous things makes it better though just so that you are educated and not wondering. Great job Katie. Scary but awesome job.

  4. Good job Katie. The center picture of yours is my desktop background. I am going to answer question 2. Some scientists believe that atom splicing and other experiments like this are causing rifts in the time space continuum aka a black hole. If enough of these small black holes occur then they may eventually merge. I think it is a bunch of nonsense and that it is not necessarily safe to conduct these experiments as there may be other side effects. Steven Hawkins spent much of his life trying to prove that a black hole destroyed matter which we now know is impossible. it can break down an object into atoms but it can’t destroy them. He finally agreed to a rivals idea.

  5. Great job K.T.! I know that before I read this article I thought that Black holes were totally SciFi. Stephen Hawking, a famous scientist, studied black holes and what they do, made of, and how they are made. I think that you may be the next Stephen Hawking. Stephen Hawking was a great scientist (although he did not skateboard) and you should be proud that you show an intrest in black holes.

  6. Cool! When I saw the title of this article, it hooked me in because all I thought of black holes was two things. Scary, and away from Earth. After reading, I learned that they’re more real then I thought and that one could appear anywhere, though not in this galaxy for a while (i hope). Now that I’m informed about black holes I think that they are actually pretty cool, even if they can wipe out a planet in less than a minute. Everyone is doing a great job with their articles and comments so keep it up!

  7. Katie this was a great article. You had a lot of description and the pictures really added. I had no idea that it takes 100 years for a black hole to orbit! I also think that it’s really cool how when two galaxies collide, the black holes gravitate towards each other and create one big galaxy with two black holes! Again, this was a really good article!

  8. Katie this was a great article. You had a lot of description and the pictures really added. I had no idea that it takes 100 years for a black hole to orbit! I also think that it’s really cool how when two galaxies collide, the black holes gravitate towards each other and create one big galaxy with two black holes! Great job!

  9. Katie you’re right this is a little creepy at first. But once I read that the black holes were 5 billion light years away from us I felt a little better. It’s Kool (with a K) that they found two new black holes because well, they’re black and so is space so they are really hard to find. Maybe a black hole could form near earth, when we collide with Andrameda in 3 billion years. Because you said that scientist said that when galaxies collide the black holes go together and orbit so yea one could form around earth in 3 MILLION years.(if your patient) 😦 😀 I think black holes are scary! What happens if an astronaut goes into space and gets sucked into a black whole, that would be really creepy. Really GREAT job!!!

  10. Katie you did a really good job on your article!!! I am also going to answer on your fist question it king of creeps me out that there are things bigger than Earth out there.:-)

Leave a Reply

 
