Sleep Experiment Samantha M.

images

The article I am writing on is about how the hours of sleep you receive can effect everything you do. Losing sleep can cause heart disease, a rising caution for men and women, diabetes, and obesity. Scientists say that some people can adjust to a slightly longer day than 24 hours, but cannot adjust to a 28 hour day.

Researchers at the University of Chicago have conducted an experiment where five men and five women were put into dimly lit and private rooms with no windows, not telling them what time of day it was. The experiment lasted 10 days, but the sleeping average did not vary: many of the subjects slept close to 9 hours and 20 minutes of each 28 hour day. But the times of sleep varied greatly. Each day the subjects went to sleep four hours later than they had the previous days, not that they knew that.

When the subjects were up and about in the middle of the night researchers noticed a significant spike in blood pressure, a decrease in the appetite-regulating hormone leptin, and higher-than-normal blood sugar levels. The ten participants that were previously healthy now had reached blood sugar of prediabetic levels. Researchers say that even after only a few days there were striking changes in glucose metabolism. They believe that this may even affect the millions who experience jet lag every year.

Though the total amount of sleep did not change, researchers say that these complications were from an off-kilter sleep cycle and not from too little sleep. So get to bed on time and stay healthy and happy with a good night’s sleep!

Discussion questions

  1. About how much sleep do you get at night and how does it affect your daily life?
  2. What do you think about this experiment? Explain

Link:

http://www.sciencenews.org/view/generic/id/41361/title/Out-of-sync_days_throw_heart_and_metabolism_out_of_whack

~ by Student Entry on March 17, 2009.

14 Responses to “Sleep Experiment Samantha M.”

  1. Great blog Sam!!! To answer question 1, I get about 8 hours of sleep, I think it affects my daily life because I’m usually tired during the day and school. question 2: I think it’s interesting because I wonder why the amount of sleep didn’t change even though there were 4 more hours added into the days, and why the blood sugar had changed

  2. Cool article. I have a question. What does losing sleep have to do with science?

  3. Awesome job Sam! I loved the title to your article because I never expected to see it as an entry. I am going to answer your second question. I think that this experience would be a lot of torture for me. I need to have a time to do things to get them done and not knowing the time would drive me nearly insane. In answer to your first question I get from 9-13 hours of sleep a night. FOr me this works and keeps me happy and awake throughout the day. But it’s kind of weird. When ever I go to my friends house I sleep a little bit longer and wake up at the same exact tie as my friend. On the other hand my dad gets only 4-6 hours of sleep. Luckily he has adjusted through the day but is often more tired than I am. Great job once again. Really interesting article.

  4. Good job Sam! After reading this, it made me a little worried because I think I’m not getting enough sleep! I usually sleep about 7 or 8 hours. It’s a really bad thing though, because it’s hard to wake up, so then sometimes I get up late and then I forget something for school. I’m also really tired during school sometimes. I also thought the experiment was interesting. It was kind of odd how the amount of sleep didn’t really change at all.
    You did a good job with this article!

  5. awesome article sam! i really wasn’t expecting an article on this topic to be here, since all the other articles were about natural disasters, global warming, et. ect. I guess i usually get about 7-8 hours of sleep, and then crash for like 12 hours on the weekend. This doesn’t really have much of an affect on my daily life, although i am a bit of a zombie until 2nd period, and I=i do hate getting up in the morning, …who doesn’t? I thought that the experiment was really interesting… they slept the same amount of time as during a 24 hour regualr day, but started going to sleep hours later. I also thought that that must have been a REALLY long ten days with nothing. awesome job again!

  6. Great article Sam.
    when i fly on planes i get severe jet lag due to the cross global trips that i take. It is very hard to go any where the next day. So once i went to school and slept away lunch. It helped a lot seeing as how it felt like 12 midnight to me.
    To answer Q 2 i sleep 8 to 7 hours. My mom is nagging me to sleep more. She says that we should get at least 9 hours of sleep. I see she’s right since the test subject slept for nine hours and 20 minutes. That is without doing anything so it would probably be that with the stresses of a normal day you need at least another hour. Not going to happen most people get six hours of sleep.

  7. Good job Sam. Your detail and great information was very good and well written. I can’t believe that losing sleep can cause heart disease! To answer question 2: I get about 8 to 9 hours of sleep every night. Even with all of those hours, when I wake up in the morning I am always very tired. I now know that the amount of sleep I get each night is a perfect amount!!

  8. Great job Sam! I can’t believe that you can get heart disease from losing sleep!! That is very scary, and now I know that the amount of sleep I get is perfect! Question 2: I sleep about eight to nine hours a night.

  9. I thought your topic was really interesting. On school days i get about 9 hours of sleep. I think kids are like supposed to get 10 hours of sleeo each night. If i sleep in late I feel amazing in the morning. Great job Sam : – ) !!!!!

  10. This article caught my eye from the start. I never would have thought that sleep would have that much impact on your life. Just by adding 4 hours to the day their blood sugar changed. Also that it can cause heart disease, diabetes, and obesity. Question 1 I get about 8 hours of sleep and I am very tired in the morning. Great story!

  11. Fantastic article Sam! I’m very surprised on how many hours of sleep you can get all of these diseases from not getting enough sleep! For question 1, I normally get about somewhere between 8-10 hours of sleep. This does effect me because if I don’t get enough sleep then I get all tired and grumpy. I can’t believe how long these people were stayed in one room. Like I said, GREAT articel and wonderful style of writing.

  12. Good job Sam! I usually get 8-9 hours of sleep including weekends which helps alot. Since I get the same amount each time, it helps me get ready for early morning activities (school,church,etc.). The only fault is that when I come home late because of something going on, I’m thrown off for the whole day and even if I pour a bucket full of cold water on my head I still don’t think I’ll be fully on track. Keep up the good work!!!

  13. Great article! I can’t believe you can get heart disease from not getting enough sleep. That is so strange. I usually get about 9-10 hours of sleep. That is a decent amount of sleep, but I am still tired in the morning and somethimes throughout the day. Sleep can really affect your life and that is really surprising. I wonder how people with sleeping disorders fell in the morning? Are they obese? Do they have heart disease? Again, wonderful article!

  14. Awesome article Sam! Lots of great facts, you did a great job. had no idea you can get diseases from not having enough sleep! I usually only get about 8 hours of sleep on an average night.. but now I now that is not enough. again, awesome info!

Leave a Reply

 
