One Of The Worst Earthquakes On Record– By: Richard D.

On Tuesday, 1/12/10 one of the worst Earthquakes on record destroyed thousands of lives. This earthquake got a 7.0 on the richter scale. That is very powerful. It knocked down the Presidential Palace, the Haitian equivalent of the White House. Experts estimate that 3 million Haitians are in need of food, water, and shelter. Haiti is an already poor country and is struggling to rebuild. Thousands of soldiers and police officers have been sent to Haiti to help its citizens. So far there have been 70,000 reports of death, and more are coming. There have been more than fifty aftershocks in Haiti, one of which reached a 5.8 on the richter scale. Many of Haiti’s hospitals are without food, water, and electricity. This has made it hard to treat injured Hatians. Hopefully the aid other nations have provided will be enough to get Haiti back on its feet.

Discussion Questions:

1) If you were caught in this earthquake, what would you do?

2) What do you think should be done to help Haitians and Haiti itself?

Info: http://www.cnn.com/2010/WORLD/americas/01/19/haiti.earthquake/index.htm

~ by Student Entry on January 24, 2010.

3 Responses to “One Of The Worst Earthquakes On Record– By: Richard D.”

  1. If I in this earthquake I would try to find my family first because I love them so much and could never live without them. I think that if you can give money to Haiti and then send lots of doctors there is what I would say. Great job Richard!

  2. Good Job Richard! If I were stuck in this earthquake I would probably try to get out of the building as soon as possible. Then I would probably try to help save others and find my family. I also agree with Paige, that I think we should give money to groups that send people, supplies and doctors to Haiti.

  3. If I were stuck in an earthquake, I would focus on surviving and hope that other countries would try their best to help all of us in need. I think that Haiti can be helped by bringing as many docters with tools that can help them operate on injured hatians. Also we can bring basic things that we need. This was a good artile and I learned alot from it.

Leave a Reply

 
